On being an immigrant

I am not an “ex-pat”.  I am an immigrant.

I left my home country to live and work somewhere far away from home.   I, like the vast majority of European migrants to the UK, came to work, to experience a new country, and to live.  I pay taxes in my new country.  Were I to need them, I would access the same services that my fellow NZ taxpayers access.

I have not come to New Zealand for free healthcare, free housing, to steal jobs from New Zealanders, or to claim benefits.

I have not been demonised, feared, resented, or stigmatised for being an immigrant.

I am lucky.

16930136688_8ca0b279ee_o

Leave a Reply

